The Season of Epiphany or the Season after the Epiphany

The season Epiphany begins January 7.  Epiphany means manifestation.  We walk with Christ in his earthly ministry during these Sundays witnessing his miracles.  

The color for this season is green.  The first Sunday after the Epiphany is always the Baptism of our Lord.  The color for this Sunday  is white.   This season varies in length, depending on the date of Easter.  The Sunday before Ash Wednesday is referred to as the Last Sunday after the Epiphany.

"They were all amazed, and they kept on asking one another, 'What is this?  A new teaching--with authority!  He commands even the unclean spirits, and they obey him.'" --Mark 1:27

This season is sometimes referred to as ordinary time.  It is not part of the Christmas cycle (Advent and Christmas) nor is it part of the Easter cycle (Lent, Holy Week, and Easter).  There are readings listed as the  First Sunday after the Epiphany through the Fifth Sunday after the Epiphany.  The Sunday lections after that are referred to as Propers.  Propers 1 - 4 may be read in the season of Epiphany if Easter comes late.

Sixth Sunday after the Epiphany (Proper 1)
Seventh Sunday after the Epiphany (Proper 2)
Eighth Sunday after the Epiphany (Proper 3)
Ninth Sunday after the Epiphany (Proper 4)
Last Sunday after the Epiphany